CHOKE and laughs

September 20, 2007 at 10:31 pm 2 comments

Sorry to take so long getting this post out. I had a lot to do yesterday and I had to be at my clinical site at 5:45 this morning.

The Yarn Harlot visit was a riot. She had us rolling in the aisles, and the warning beforehand to use the bathroom or risk wardrobe malfunctions was needed. I then ended up hanging out and visiting until midnight getting my books signed somewhere in there. Now what you really wanted to see:

Here is Stephanie doing her Vanna impersonation showing of swag she got from Twisted Yarns

DSCF0012.JPG

 

Here is a side view of the basket full of hats with the traveling sock.

DSCF0013.JPG

And finally Stephanie pounds some knitting mojo in to the Missoni Scarf Knock off I am knitting for my sister. Currently my sister does not knit but she has taken to looking through my Interweave Knits to find things she might like to have, and she has recently expressed some interest in possibly learning how to knit. Hopefully the mojo will work its way through the scarf and my sister will learn how to knit.

DSCF0015.JPG

 

These next 2 pictures are of the 53 hats that will be going to the Star of Hope mission one of the largest organizations helping the homeless here in Houston.

DSCF0017.JPG DSCF0019.JPG

 

These 17 preemie hats (2 with matching socks) collected will be going to Texas Children’s Hospital Neonatal Intensive Care Unit along with a number of hats that Twisted Yarns had from their regular knitting group (that’s the pile in the bottom picture)

DSCF0021.JPG

DSCF0022.JPG

 

Thank you to everyone who donated hats, including but not limited to: Susan Wallace, Hanna Pierro, Martha Elizabeth Winston, Dolores Rose, Ruth Parks, Ray Whiting of Knitivity, Kat Rocha at Kat Gets Cross Eyed, and Kim Christiansen KimnCocoa. If you donated a hat and want your name/blog here leave me a comment and I’ll add it to the list.

 

Now it’s time for me to go to bed. I was up at 4 this morning, and it is now almost midnight. I promise the follow-up post on substituting yarns in the next few days. I have the samples done and photographed, now I need to write the post around studying for an exam on Monday.

Entry filed under: knitting, Yarn.

Hey, A Movie! Last Call for Griffin Yarns Sock Club

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. webduck  |  September 23, 2007 at 12:28 am

    What a very interesting site! Thanks for all you do in knitting for the needy. Cheers! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Neologist  |  June 18, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Neologist.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Patterns

Love Me Do Socks

Feeds


